Saturday, November 21, 2009

ABKM Meditation

A technique taught today was to start with mindfulness of breathing (anapana) and then direct attention to the top of the head. Be mindful of that and watch - observe - note the experience.

Friday, October 30, 2009

Meditation Session - - Nama and Rupa

Pancakkhanha : Five aggregates (Rupa, Vedanã, Sanña, Sankhãra, veññã)

Rupa : Form/ Body
Nama : Mind

Rupakkhandha : Four Primary elements
Pathavi - element of softness and hardness (earth)
ãpo - element of cohesion (water)
Vãyo - element of motion (air)
Tejo - element of heat or kinetic energy and material qualities derived from them (fire)

Arahant : an enlightened being

Sotapanna : Streamwinner (a person, who has eradicated the first three fetters (sanyojanas) of the mind

Saturday, October 17, 2009

Meditation Session - Nimitta

After meditation session, Sayadaw Zanita explained about the Nimitta and how with continued Samatha practice allows the development of the Nimitta - using it to "walk" the various worlds -dewa and asuras.

Saturday, September 19, 2009

Meditation Session - Maranasati - reflection on death

The practice is to be aware that death is imminent and one day we will die. And so there is no need to fear death but use the awareness to promote urgency in the practice of the Dhamma.

For all that is born, will surely die.

Saturday, July 18, 2009

Meditation Session - Buddhanusati

This is reflection on the attributes of the Buddha.
The attributes of the Buddha are in the verse

Itipiso Bhagava Araham,
Sammasambuddo, Vijjacarana Sampanno,
Sugato Lokavidu,
Anuttaro purrisa dhamma sarathi Satta deva manussanam
Buddho Bhagavati.

For the purposes of the practice, sit quietly, imagine/ recall the image of your favorite buddha, and with each breath, repeat the word "Araham" in your mind.

Here is an excerpt on what Araham means :

"In Buddhist terminology, an arahant is one who has reached the culmination of the path, who is fully enlightened. A Buddha is an arahant, and there is no difference between his realization of Nibbana and that of other arahants. The special qualities of a Buddha reside in his knowledge, power and teaching ability. The stock formula describing an arahant, found many places in the canon, is as follows; "one with taints destroyed, who has lived the holy life, done what had to be done, laid done the burden, reached the true goal, destroyed the fetters of being, and is completely liberated through final knowledge."

In the context of the epithets of the Buddha, the most important aspect here is the first, the destruction of the taints. This means the complete purification of the mind from all delusions, addictions, negativities and so forth. Just try to imagine what it would be like to have a mind like that, clear and open through and through without any hint of a shadow lurking anywhere to obstruct the light. In Buddhist psychology, it should be remembered, the innermost and most essential aspect of mind is pure awareness; which is light, void and bliss. It is only the presence of the defilements which obstruct us from accessing that inherent Buddha-light, and their removal is enlightenment.

Wednesday, July 8, 2009

ABKM Meditation - Metta Bhavana

Loving Kindness meditation
Start with - May I be well, happy and peaceful.
Repeat this until you are calm and centered.

Then start with persons, ie
May you be well, happy and peaceful
May my family be well, happy and peaceful

Then extend to area:
May those in the room be well, happy and peaceful
May those in this building be well, happy and peaceful
street, suburb, state, country, planet, solar system, universe etc.

Then radiate this loving kindness outwards in all the directions - above, below, north, south, east, west

Finally, send metta to all beings with
May ALL beings be well, happy and peaceful

Saturday, June 27, 2009

Meditation Session with Sayadaw Zanita

We had our first meditation session with Sayadaw Zanita.

Sayadaw explained the Kanni method which is Samatha based Vipassana meditation. The Kanni method basically employs the original authentic Buddha method of meditation to practice Samatha first up to the point of seeing the Padhibhaga Nimitta (Fourth Jhanas level) and then proceed on to Vipassana.